For those of you who have been following my ever so "glamorous" life, you know that I have been battling cervical dysplagia for more than 7 years. Over the last 5 years, I have been in and out of the doctor's office getting pap smears every 4-6 months and colposcopies at least once a year if not more. Needless to say, my vajayjay has been less than pleased with how she has been treated over that time.
As blogged about in recent posts, this year marked my 29th birthday and therefore adventure into "true womanhood". Since my Mom was diagnosed with breast cancer at age 39 and with our family's terrible history with all things cancer, especially breast cancer, I have been bracing myself for years that I would be getting my first mammogram the year I turned 29.
On Friday, the day I had been dreading finally arrived. Not only did I have to get my first mammogram, but I also had to get a follow-up pap smear since my test and biopsy in December came back semi-bad, at least bad enough to warrant a repeat pap again in 6 months.
Of course, I always dread the pap appointments, but that day brought extra anxiety. I had to get a mammogram (which every woman I've ever heard of has said it's the worst thing ever) AND I had to "break in" a new doctor as well. So, as you can imagine, it was a very stressful and tense going into that appointment.
In my 14 years of seeing an ob/gyn, I have never had the experience that I had on Friday. It was brilliant!!!
Not only did the mammogram not really hurt at all, but my new doctor was fantastic. He was very quick, straight to the point, assured me that I won't die from dysplagia as long as I continue with my follow-up exams (which I already knew), and got right down to business.
He was so quick with doing the pap smear, I didn't even know he was done. I mean he had the plastic ducklips in, got what he needed, and was done in under a minute. It was so quick, I thought he was pulling my leg that he was done, but sure enough he was.
I barely felt a thing!!! Normally, my exams are really painful no matter what is done, but I have to say this is the BEST pap smear I have ever had. EVER!! My doctor is now (and will forever be known as) the Pap Smear Ninja! He was stealthy, quick, and I didn't know what hit me until it was done.
If that's how all of my future exams are going to go, I can't wait! I hope you all have your own Pap Smear Ninja, and if you don't, I'm happy to share mine! :)
I first started this blog when I was 28. I had everything that people at that age dream of...a good job, great family and friends, owned my own home, etc., but I wasn't happy. Now, I am 30, and have finally gotten my life on the track to living the life I want NOW! This blog details the changes I have made and continue to make in my life as I move forth into a new chapter, one with so many possibilities.
Monday, July 4, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment