What is it about starting a new year that automatically makes EVERYONE sick?
Sunday night as I was desperately trying to fall asleep, I checked in on my Facebook friends and noticed status update after update saying how sick they felt, that they were coming down with a bug, etc. Jokingly I made a comment on a few of them calling it the "New Year flu". I mean who doesn't want a couple extra days to recoup before having to start work again? I know I did.
As the week as progressed, it just seemed like the status updates continued. I even "caught it" this week. I have been feeling extremely run down and tired the entire week. Although I know that my week started off with lack of sleep, etc., I have more than made up for it the rest of the week. For the last three days, I have gone to work and come home so exhausted that I passed out immediately and crashed for several hour long naps. I am the QUEEN of napping. :)
Why is it that people become so sick at the beginning of the year in epidemic proportions? Is it all in our heads or are we really sick?
Why aren't we sick over the holidays or when we are on our holiday vacation? Convenient, huh?
I know some people say, well, you are around lots of people over the holidays and pick up their germs, etc. Well, not sure I totally buy that. I was only at two Christmas events, and I wasn't around a ton of people. I met with friends over break, not in crazy large groups, and most of the ones I actually hung out with aren't the ones who are complaining about being sick. So, why do I feel so crummy?
Whatever the reason is that I am not feeling well, all I have to say is thank goodness it's Friday, and I have the weekend to recover!
I've missed not blogging the last couple of days, but honestly I've barely had the strength to lift my eyelids long enough to write out the many thoughts that have been going through my head. I do have a couple of great blog concepts to hash out this weekend, so maybe you will get several treats to read soon.
No comments:
Post a Comment