Is it a requirement that certain people, especially women, have to devote a specific amount of their daily lives to being petty and causing drama in the lives of others?
Lately, it just seems like I am surrounded by people, a few women I know and/or work with in particular, who make it their daily mission to pick apart every little thing people say (or what they imagine people say) and twist it into something ugly solely for the purpose of their amusement. They are so petty that if you say something they don't agree with or challenge them in any way, they take it so personally and set out on a vendetta to make your life miserable. Is this really necessary? I mean really...grow up people.
I know we all have days where we get our noses tweaked a bit and might come home and tell our loved ones how bad our days were, but I bet most of us would never drag out those bad feelings into a continuous series of drama-filled attempts to ruin another person's day and/or career. As if my job is not difficult enough with the hours I work and the amount of time I travel, the last thing I need is people who dislike me (whatever their reason may be) making up stuff about what I said and spreading rumors to fellow employees about those supposed comments.
What do people gain from this? It seems like a lot of work to make up stories and try to keep the details of these stories straight. I don't know about you, but I get exhausted just thinking about the effort it would take to keep up that level of drama.
I really don't think it has anything to do with me being in an office full of women because I have a lot of great women that I am friends with and hang out with on a regular basis. I just don't get why they behave like this. It is completely immature, unprofessional, and a disgusting quality.
And it is not unique to these particular women at my office. I have seen it in other social circles. These people (not all women) are so nice to everyone in public, but when they aren't around certain people, they become their evil twins and talk about these people like they were inhuman.
When are people going to learn that there is more to life than constantly putting others down to boost yourself up? When are they going to learn that if they spent half the time they spend being petty and causing drama on more productive or worthwhile things, they would see their lives in a whole new perspective?
In case you can't tell, I have reached my limit for dealing with pettiness, drama queens, and bitches who seek to ruin others' lives. I want to be the one who turns the other cheek, and I usually do, but I can't be held responsible for what I might say/do to the next person who choose to act in this unsavory manner...
Grow up people! Stop treating others like they are the gum you stepped in!
If you don't, I might be the one outing you to everyone you are talking bad about, and let's face it, many of you are not above reproach. Many people hold me in high respect, and my words are usually taken pretty seriously. Heed my advice...and no, this isn't a threat. It's a promise.
No comments:
Post a Comment