So, you are probably curious about the post title. Well, there are really good stories behind it, all from today. First, the owls...So, I've been having a tough time sleeping the last couple days. In fact, I have been solidly awake since 7:30am Thursday morning. I couldn't sleep so I stayed up all night working on stuff for my actual job and knocking a couple of "to do" list items off the list as well. Slowly but surely that list is getting smaller.
Since it's almost 2am Saturday morning now, that means I have been up for 42.5 hours. As I sat up last night, I could help but think that I am such a night owl and actually get more work accomplished during the late hours than I do during daylight hours sometimes. I think at one point in the night, I started to drift off just a bit, which I welcomed, but it didn't quite happen. I did, however, have a brief "daydream" that I was sitting in a relatively quiet, small room with tons of owls perched around me all saying "Whoo". Not sure what that means, but nonetheless, that is house I started my day.
[Ok well, shortly after finishing the last sentence, I fell asleep while typing...guess that 42.5 hours caught up with me, and I've been busy all day today...so I am finishing the blog and treating you to a second one about today!]
Second, I did not actually see a "unicorn", but I definitely heard about a sighting. As you know, unicorns are mythical creatures, but in the dating world of woman, a unicorn is that perfect man we search for, a man that all women drool over and are jealous when he is in a relationship with someone. For most of my (liberal) friends, to us a unicorn, is a straight, attractive, intelligent, not socially awkward, sensitive guy who is also liberal-minded and comfortable with his sexuality. What truly makes a man a unicorn is the fact that he can be in a room with gay men and be totally comfortable with who he is, AND...this is the key...he has NO commitment issues.
I went to lunch with my friend, Emily, and it was much needed girl time! We have both had crazy busy schedules, so it was nice being able to meet up with her for lunch catch up on the last couple months of our lives. We had great creole food and talked for like an hour and a half. While catching up she told me about meeting this guy, and we joked about how hard a guy is hard to find, and that he might be her "unicorn." I nearly died laughing not because I thought she was funny, but because I had completely forgotten about the concept of "unicorns" in dating. It also provided me a little bit of perspective about my dating life and the choices I've made concerning it. I'm so happy that she's found someone she's crushing on and her makes her happy, even though their dating relationship is very new. It wasn't too long ago I felt that way, and part of me still feels that way about him, but not much I can do about things considering he's not interested in pursuing a relationship anymore. So, as much as I don't want to move on, I guess I am still on the hunt for my "unicorn".
So in between staying up all night working on things, lunch with Emily, and heading out to my friend's 25th birthday party, I also managed to get some shopping done for the kiddos to come stay with me, got my oil changed and tires rotated, and ran a few more errands (a.k.a. checking off a few more "to do" list tasks). I would have gotten much more done, but it seemed like the entire world was conspiring against me to make me unproductive and late for the birthday party, including the oil change and tire rotation that took 45 minutes longer than expected. I was really bummed about that because I wanted to go shoe shopping but didn't have enough time because of this delay. As I drove by the store, I slowed downing check the clock wondering if I had even just 10 minutes to do a drive-by shopping, but alas, there was no time, and I was even 5 minutes late to the party (although the birthday girl didn't even arrive until like 10 minutes after me...soooo...I could have shopped and been "on time"). LOL.
Ok, so I think I need get to the "sharks" because this blog is getting super long, and I still have to write a blog about today's adventure in "Kiddo Land." So, my girl, Brittany turned 25 yesterday, and we started at Cheeseburger in Paradise (great dinner, asshole bartender who flipped whipped cream on her as her "birthday shot"), went to Wolfies, and then to Landsharks in Broad Ripple. Dinner was great; we had several margaritas, a Tootsie, some lemonade punch-looking drink, and I think a few shots were added in there somewhere. I met a lot of great new people, and I got excited because I saw the possibility of new friends adding up. :) And, they are great potentials for game night attendees. This is why I love birthday parties...great way to meet new friends. Then, we went to Wolfies for another drink and to catch up with a bartender who is friend's with Brittany and couldn't make it to her party. Finally, we ended up at Landsharks where we were greeted with no cover and Brittany got a free "punch bowl" bucket with her very own shark toy. :) It's amazing how happy something as silly as free booze and a shark toy can make someone.
It was basically 4 of us girls plus one of her guy friends at the club, which was very dead and disappointing. There were old couples there trying to dance and "hang" with the young crowd, the skeezy gangsta guys who think they can dance up in your space uninvited, the cracked out chick who is making a fool of herself dancing (and we were lucky because we had not just 1, but 3 who provided us lots of laughs and entertainment!!), the hot bouncer I wanted to throw myself onto but resisted, scantily-dressed go-go dancers, the white wannabe gangstas who have no rhythm, and the creepy European-looking guys who watch you dance, but you can never figure out what they are thinking because they don't make a move. So basically, we had the variety show at the club even though it wasn't very crowded, and it was disappointing because at least if there had been some decent eye candy, it would have made the night a bit more interesting. LOL. Even without the eye candy, we had a great night dancing, watching Brittany take body shots, and just enjoying her birthday, which is why we were really there in the first place.
Lessons from the day:
- Never underestimate the power of a great lunch with a friend.
- Unicorns may be mythical creatures, but what they represent will never be extinct.
- Learn to enjoy the little things and don't sweat the small stuff.
- Sleep is a requirement not an option...I need to start getting better about that.
- I need a junk food intervention! I blow it every day.
No comments:
Post a Comment